“The Bride”

“The Bride”

8×8″

Oil on canvas panel.

Who wouldnt love an art deco woman?! Elsa Lanchester 1902-1986. I dont think you could call her classically beautiful but there is a strange beauty to her roll as the Bride. Classic!

So this is about the 4th or fifth piece I’ve done with the “Zorn palette”. I must admit some color frustration with it. Mostly with the cool blue, which it doesnt have. (Ivory black, Titanium white, Cadmium red, Yellow ochre) But I am forcing myself to refrain from reaching for the tubes of blue. Trying to use the juxtaposition of warms with the cools to create the bluish tones that I need. I really wanted to pump color in this piece. I guess when it comes to monsters I have been highly influenced by the great Basil Gogos and his Famous Monsters of Filmland covers. Great exercise to stretch with. I’m not done with it yet.

Click HERE to check availability and see the entire gallery of my “Painting A Day” project.

One Response to ““The Bride””

  1. Wonderful painting, Jim. You really captured her beauty and the lighting is fantastic. Great work!

Leave a Reply

