“Depression Era Farmer”

First version

Second version

“Depression Era Farmer”

8×8″

Oil on canvas panel

So I did this painting in less than 45 minutes and HATED it! In my quest for speed I sacrificed quality. So ya do what ya gotta do, you repaint. After I finished the first one I knew exactly what I wanted to do. I needed to start over rather than try to fix what I didnt like about the first one. So I primed a fresh canvas with a red ground and got to it. I’m much happier with the richness of the second. It really didnt take much longer than the first but it fell into place easier with the red ground. Like I always say, some come easy and some fight you all the way.

Click HERE to check availability and to see the entire “Painting A Day” project.

This will be the last of my daily paintings for a while. I’m loving this project but I have other work that is backing up on me. So until I clear my workload I need to stay focused. I hope you have enjoyed it so far. Please check back often because I will get back to it as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

